Wednesday, January 23, 2008

If I Managed the Twins...

I start this blog with a heavy heart. It seems as though we are on the eve of one of the worst seasons of Twins baseball in Minnesota history. I mean, honesty, talk of Scott "Scotty doesn't know" Baker being the new Twins ace is not all that reassuring AND the whole no center fielder thing kinda worries me. Not to mention that the Twins feel the need to order an "official press release" to tell the fans that Boof has lost 20 pounds. OH MY GOD WHY IS THAT MAN STILL ON THE TEAM! I could careless if over the winter he magically transformed his body to look like Brad Pitt in Troy, it just not happening. I could throw a better fastball. Hell, my 4 year old cousin could throw a better fastball. If you suck in the 1st inning, you're going to suck in the 7th--regardless if you now have the ability to get there. 

Another Twins move that pissed me off... the signing of Adam Everett. Why? I mean, he seems like a nice guy and all but... MOVE PUNTO TO SHORTSTOP! SS is a defensive position, you're supposed to be taking away hits and runs from other teams... not necessarily making them at your at bats. Punto has a long history of doing just that. Granted last season wasn't the best for him, I still have faith in Little Nicky Punto. The man has hops and speed! I've seen him dive into stands to make an out, the ball is like a magnet in his glove! Yet the Twins feel the need to sign a free agent. 

Don't even get me started with the whole Torii Hunter thing. I'm still pissed about that. I was at his final home game, there are no words to describe what that was like. Every time that man walked onto the field there was a standing ovation for him. I still get chills thinking about it. He was a once and a life time player, he was my generations Kirby. Now he's gone and on opening day I get to watch him come out onto the field with the same number 48 on his back but this time watch him take home runs and doubles away from my beloved Twins. It's blasphemy and I'll be crying on the inside when I see it.

I'll be the first to say that I love Johan Santana. He's by far the best pitcher in baseball... and he is adorable. But for God sakes, TRADE THE MAN ALREADY! As I have stated earlier, to my embarrassment and sadness, the Twins have no center fielder or table setter for that matter. If the Twins took their heads out of their asses they would have seen that the Red Sox were answering their prayers-- Jacoby Ellsbury for Santana. He's got speed, he's got defensive skills and he has the bat... the problem is that the Twins want him and Jon Lester plus the already agreed upon prospects. Last time I looked the Twins had a farm system full of young and talented arms, they don't need another pitcher. The need is a center fielder. Which leads me to another thing... WHY IS TYNER GONE?!?!?! He can play center, I mean it shouldn't be a permanent solution but it could work for awhile. 

These are my current problems with the Twins and the most logical solutions... but what do I know, I'm just a college student with way too much time on their hands.